Looking at possibly picking up a Ruger Blackhawk in .44 Mag

Talk about or share information about Ruger handguns.
Squatting Wolf
.204 Ruger Guns: '07 Savage 12 LRPV

Looking at possibly picking up a Ruger Blackhawk in .44 Mag

Post by Squatting Wolf »

So I stopped in the locale gunshop afterwork and fell in love with a Ruger Blackhawk in .44 Mag. The gun has a custom finish, the trigger and action have been worked over and it has a couple sets of grips. It also has a smooth cyclinder similar to my Smith & Wesson.

My question is, does someone make a good aftermarket adjustable rear site that will fit this gun? I'm not experienced at all with Ruger handguns.

Thanks,
Matt
It's more important where ya hit 'em, than what ya hit 'em with.
'07 Savage 12 LRPV .204 w/ Leupold VX-II 6-18 LRV reticle
acloco
.204 Ruger Guns: 12FV, 12BVSS -S

Re: Looking at possibly picking up a Ruger Blackhawk in .44 Mag

Post by acloco »

Blackhawk or Super Blackhawk?
skipper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100, Custom build Lilja/Panda/Shehane/Jewell

Post by skipper »

If it has an unfluted cylinder it must be a New Model Super Blackhawk. I've got one with a 10 3/4 in. barrel that's over 20 years old. It is one of my favorite deer guns along with my Desert Eagle 50 AE. I put a set of Millet sights on it and had the smith do a trigger job. It is one of the most accurate pistols I've ever owned. The square back trigger guard would beat my finger to death so I ended up putting a set of Pachmayr grips on it that filled in the gap behind the trigger guard. Another good investment. I'll post some pictures of it this evening.

http://www.millettsights.com/index.php/ ... series_100

http://www.pachmayr.com/pachmayr/index.htm
Image Hold 'em & Squeeze 'em
glenn asher
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12fvss, CZ 527 American

Post by glenn asher »

Hamilton Bowen also makes excellent sights for Rugers, and they are easy to install, and more rugged than the aluminum sights Ruger makes.